School Board

To watch school board meetings on ORTV, please click here.

ORTV can be found on ORTV Channel 95.

The Oyster River School Board was named 2023 School Board of the Year by the New Hampshire School Boards Association (NHSBA)!

Meet the Board

The school board is an elected body which oversees the operations of the school district at regular meetings and is responsible for the Annual School District Meeting, school district policies, and negotiated contracts with employee groups.

Questions concerning Board operations should be directed to the Superintendent of School at 868-5100 ext. 2002, and correspondence for the School Board can be sent to SAU #5, 36 Coe Drive, Durham, NH 03824 or by using the email address below.


School Board Members

Matthew Bacon, Chair

Madbury 2027
Renee Beauregard-Bennett At-Large 2025
Brian Cisneros Lee 2027
Denise Day At-Large 2026
Giana Gelsey At-Large 2026
Kelly Ickes Durham 2027
Heather Smith, Vice-Chair At-Large 2025
Maeve Hickok Student Rep 2023-2024


School Board

All Board Member Correspondence

School Board Goals

2022-2023 Final Approved Goals

2022-2023 School Board members. From left, Superintendent Dr. James Morse and School Board members Thomas Newkirk, Daniel Klein, Chair Denise Day, Heather Smith, Giana Gelsey, Brian Cisneros, Vice-Chair Matthew Bacon and Student Representative Paige Burt.

A special thank you to 2022-2023 student representative Paige Burt

Student representative Paige Burt is seen on the left accepting a bouquet of flowers from School Board Chair Denis Day during her last board meeting in June 2023.

“ORHS has a long tradition of student participation on various initiatives. One of the longest traditions is having a student representative, elected by the students themselves, serve on the ORCSD School Board. Paige Burt has served in this role throughout the 2022-23 school year with distinction. She brought forth issues of concern to the students, fully participated in Board discussions, and was a respected board member."

- Dr. James C. Morse, Sr.